Boise, ID – Attorney General Raúl Labrador is highlighting changes to the Idaho Consumer Protection Act that took effect January 1. The changes give Idaho consumers additional rights when canceling automatic subscription renewals.
Referred to as “Click to Cancel,” the new law will require that businesses selling subscription products and services online to Idaho consumers provide for free online cancellation, as well as cancellation in the same manner that the consumer used to subscribe. Additionally, for subscriptions with an original term of 12 months or longer, a business must send a reminder notice to the consumer between 30 and 60 days before the subscription is set to renew. The business must also provide information on how the consumer may cancel.
“This legislation is effective in helping consumers protect themselves from unwanted subscriptions and repeat charges. There have been many complaints from consumers having difficulty canceling their subscriptions, and this legislation makes the process easier for the consumer to opt out,” Attorney General Labrador said.
The 2022 Idaho Legislature passed SB 1298a and Governor Little signed the bill into law. After January 1, failure to comply with these requirements will be considered a violation of the Idaho Consumer Protection Act, enforceable by the Office of the Attorney General.