You may carry a weapon on your person if you possess a valid Idaho concealed weapons license.
You may carry a weapon on your person without a concealed weapons license under the following circumstances:
- If the weapon is clearly visible and you are at least 18 years old. Idaho law imposes additional requirements for persons under 18. See Idaho Code § 18-3302E.
- If you are outside the limits of a city, you are at least 18 years old and you are not disqualified under Idaho law from obtaining a concealed weapon license.
- If you are inside the limits of a city, you are at least 21 years of age, you are a resident of Idaho and you are not disqualified under Idaho law from obtaining a concealed weapon license.
No. A concealed weapon includes any dirk, dirk knife, bowie knife, dagger, pistol, revolver or any other deadly or dangerous weapon.
- Located in plain view;
- A lawfully possessed shotgun or rifle;
- Not loaded and concealed;
- Not loaded and secured in a case;
- Disassembled or permanently altered so it is not readily operable; or
- If it is handgun, you are at least 21 years of age, a resident of Idaho or member of the United States Armed Forces, and not disqualified under Idaho law from obtaining a concealed weapons license.
No, if you are outside the limits of a city, and, if you are hunting, fishing, trapping or engaging in other lawful outdoor activity.
You must apply in-person to a county sheriff. If you have questions about applying for a concealed weapons license, you should contact the county sheriff where you reside or where you intend to apply if you are not an Idaho resident.
Maybe. A county sheriff may require that you demonstrate familiarity with a firearm, which may be through classes or other means. A sheriff must accept one of the following as evidence of familiarity with a firearm:
- Completion of a hunter education or hunter safety course approved by the Idaho Department of Fish and Game or a similar agency of another state;
- Completion of a National Rifle Association (NRA) firearms safety, training or hunter education course;
- Completion of a firearms safety or training course offered by a law enforcement agency, community college, college, or university, private or public school or firearms training school, using instructors certified by the NRA or Idaho State Police;
- Completion of a law enforcement firearms safety or training course or class for security guards, investigators, special deputies, law enforcement agencies or security enforcement agencies.
- Evidence of equivalent experience with a firearm through participation in organized shooting competition or military service;
- A current Idaho license to carry a concealed weapon;
- Completion of a firearms training or safety course or class conducted by a state-certified or NRA-certified firearms instructor; or
- Other training the sheriff deems appropriate.
No. However, you must meet the requirements described above.
The factors that render a person ineligible for a concealed weapons license in Idaho are listed in Idaho Code §18-3302(11)(a) through 18-3302(11)(n). You should review this section carefully if you are considering applying for an Idaho concealed weapons license. Also, if you have been convicted of any of the crimes listed in Idaho Code Sections 18-310(2)(a) through 18-310(2)(jj), you are ineligible to obtain a concealed weapons license.
The fee for the original license is $20.00. The renewal fee is $15.00. A sheriff may collect additional fees necessary to cover the cost of processing fingerprints and the cost of materials for the license.
Licenses are valid for five years from the date of issue.
Yes. See Idaho Code § 18-3302(22)(a) –(f). The sheriff of the county where the license was issued or where the person resides may revoke a license for any of the following reasons:
- Fraud or intentional misrepresentation in obtaining the license;
- Misuse of a license;
- The doing of an act or the existence of a condition that would have been grounds for denial of the license by the sheriff.
- Violation of any of the terms of Idaho Code § 18-3302;
- You are found guilty of, or receive a withheld judgment for, a crime which would have disqualified you from receiving a license.
Yes. You may not carry a concealed weapon in a courthouse, juvenile detention facility, adult correctional facility, prison, jail, public school or private school. For purposes of this prohibition, a school is defined as “a private or public elementary or secondary school.”
Federal law may prohibit you from carrying a weapon in places such as federal courthouses and airports.
Private businesses, including those that are open to the public, may prohibit the carrying of weapons on their premises.
If you have any question about whether a weapon may be carried on the premises of a governmental entity or business, you should contact that entity or business prior to carrying a weapon onto their premises.
Yes. However, while in Idaho, you must carry the license on your person at all times when carrying a concealed weapon. See Idaho Code § 18-3302(5)(g).
Yes, if you are a qualified law enforcement officer and meet all of the conditions in Idaho Code §§ 18-3302(5)(f) and 18-3302H.
Idaho has concealed weapons reciprocity agreements with some other states. The Idaho State Police (ISP) Bureau of Criminal Identification maintains these agreements, and you may access information about them via the ISP website. If you have additional questions concerning reciprocity agreements, please call 208-884-7498.
CAUTION: Federal law and state law governing the possession of firearms and other weapons differ. If you are prohibited by federal law from possessing a weapon or a firearm, you may be prosecuted in federal court. The possession of a concealed weapons license issued by a state is not a defense to a prosecution for violation of federal law.