May 20, 1999

Senator Grant R. Ipsen
Idaho State Senate
1010 Houston Road
Boise, ID 83706

THIS CORRESPONDENCE IS A LEGAL GUIDELINE OF THE
ATTORNEY GENERAL SUBMITTED FOR YOUR GUIDANCE

Dear Senator Ipsen:

You have asked the Attorney General’s Office to provide legal guidance regarding
the workers’ compensation law in the state as it specifically pertains to non-profits and,
more specifically, to faith groups. The more specific questions are listed below.

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Is workers’ compensation insurance required for ‘“small” non-profits, more
specifically, faith groups?

2. If so, is the communication of such clearly stipulated under the law?

3. Is the minimum premium and penalty assessed these small organizations
reasonable in light of the fact that the minimum premium charged is often a large
percentage of the compensation paid?

CONCLUSION

1. Yes. Pursuant to Idaho Code § 72-203, the workers’ compensation law applies to
all public employment and private employment not expressly exempted by the
provisions of Idaho Code § 72-212.

2. Yes, the requirement for workers’ compensation insurance is set forth in Idaho
Code § 72-301 with exemptions to that requirement set forth in Idaho Code § 72-
212. There is Idaho case law interpreting the exemptions provided in Idaho Code
§ 72-212.

3. The penalty for failure to secure compensation is statutorily set by Idaho Code
§ 72-319. The minimum premium is confined to a range by Idaho Code § 41-
1612(2), which states that “no filing shall contain a minimum premium that is less
than one hundred fifty dollars ($150) or greater than three hundred dollars
($300).”



ANALYSIS
Question Number 1:

Idaho Code § 72-203 provides that all public and private employment is covered
by the workers’ compensation law, and coverage is required unless expressly exempt by
the provisions of Idaho Code § 72-212. The exemptions from coverage, under Idaho
Code § 72-212, that may be applicable to “small” non-profits, more specifically, faith
groups, are set forth as follows:

72-212. Exemptions from coverage.—None of the provisions of
this law shall apply to the following employments unless coverage thereof
is elected as provided in section 72-213, Idaho Code.

(2) Casual employment.

(6) Employment which is not carried on by the employer for the sake
of pecuniary gain.

As 1s set forth in this analysis, Idaho case law does not support the application of the
above quoted exemptions in the case of faith groups.

The Supreme Court of Idaho has defined “casual employment” as found in Idaho
Code § 72-212(2) as follows:

This Court has defined “casual employment” as employment that is
only occasional, or comes at uncertain times, or at irregular intervals, and
whose happening cannot be reasonably anticipated as certain or likely to
occur or to become necessary. It is employment that arises only
occasionally or incidentally and is not part of the usual trade or business of
the employer. Tuma v. Kosterman, 106 Idaho 728, 682 P.2d 1275 (1984);
Wachtler v. Calnon, 90 1daho 468, 413 P.2d 449 (1966); Flynn v. Carson,
42 Idaho 141, 243 P. 818 (1926).

Larson v. Bonneville Pacific Services Co., 117 Idaho 988, 989-90, 723 P.2d 220, 221-22
(1990).

It does not appear that typical employees of a small faith group would meet the
casual employment exception as interpreted by Idaho case law. My understanding is that



the employees of a small faith group, that is the focus of this analysis, would consist of a
pastor and secretaries conducting the usual business of the faith group.

The “pecuniary gain” exemption provided under Idaho Code § 72-212(5) was
recently interpreted by the Supreme Court of Idaho in Burrow v. Caldwell Treasure
Valley Rodeo, 129 Idaho 675, 931 P.2d 1193 (1997). Don Burrow was employed by the
Caldwell Treasure Valley Rodeo to do various maintenance jobs. When Mr. Burrow was
injured in the course of installing a scoreboard, he sought workers’ compensation
benefits. Caldwell Treasure Valley Rodeo asserted that it was an exempt employer under
Idaho Code § 72-212(5). Caldwell Treasure Valley Rodeo, the employer, was described
in the decision as follows:

For federal tax purposes, the employer is a non-profit, tax-exempt
organization under 26 U.S.C. § 501(c)(4). The employer does not fall
within the definition of non-profit organization for purposes of the
collection of state sales tax. The employer reinvests its proceeds back into
the rodeo grounds it operates, and the members of its board of directors are
volunteers.

Id. at 676.

The supreme court held that the employer was not exempt under Idaho Code § 72-
212(5). Itreasoned as follows:

The Commission determined that the employer is not exempt under
the 1.C. § 72-212(5) exemption because it receives remuneration for its
services in the form of admissions to the rodeos it conducts.  The
Commission based its decision on Modlin, 49 Idaho 199, 286 P. 612. In
Modlin, the employer was a for-profit employer, and attempted to avoid
workers’ compensation liability on the basis that it did not generate any
profit in the particular instance in which the employee was injured. /d. In
Modlin, the employer argued that it was not acting for pecuniary gain. /d.
at 206, 286 P. at 614. The Court rejected this contention, stating,
“[w]hether it made a profit or not is beside the issue. It was supplying
service and receiving remuneration for it.” /d.

The Court has cited Modlin for the proposition that “an employer
cannot escape liability for compensation on the ground that he is not
engaged in a business for pecuniary gain because on some transactions he
loses money.” Dillard v. Jones, 58 Idaho 273, 279, 72 P.2d 705, 708
(1937); see also Dameron v. Yellowstone Trail Garage, Inc., 54 1daho 646,
652, 34 P.2d 417, 419 (1934) (“Whether or not the employer was making a
profit at the time the employee was injured is immaterial.”) Therefore, the



employer’s non-profit tax status is irrelevant to the determination of
whether the employment was carried on by the employer for the sake of
pecuniary gain.

More recently, this Court addressed the 1.C. § 72-212(5) exemption
in Dewey v. Merrill, 124 1daho 201, 858 P.2d 740 (1993), stating that “[i]n
addressing the issue of pecuniary gain, the Court considers whether a party
is supplying a service and receiving remuneration for it.” Id. at 205, 858
P.2d at 744. The Court also stated in Dewey that the “Worker’s
Compensation Act was intended for commercial and governmental
employers who can spread the costs of compensation through the price of
goods and services. The pecuniary gain exemption was created to protect
individuals . . . who may be deemed to be statutory employers but do not
regularly employ others for business purposes.” Id.

The employer in the present case received remuneration for its
services. Therefore, the employer is not exempt under 1.C. § 72-212(5).

Id. at 676-77 (citations omitted).

Applying the Burrow holding, a small faith group is not exempt under the Idaho
Code § 72-212(5) exemption because it receives remuneration for its services in the
form of donations for the religious services it conducts. “[T]he employer’s non-profit
tax status is irrelevant to the determination of whether the employment was carried on
by the employer for the sake of pecuniary gain.” Burrow, 125 Idaho at 676.

Question Number 2:
Please see analysis for Question Number 1.
Question Number 3:

The penalty for failure to secure compensation is set forth in Idaho Code § 72-319,
which provides in pertinent part, as follows:

72-319. Penalty for failure to secure compensation.—. . . .

(4) Any employer required to secure the payment of
compensation under this law, who fails to do so, may be liable for a penalty
of either two dollars ($2.00) for each employee for each day or twenty-five
dollars ($25.00) for each day during which such failure continues,
whichever is greater. . . . In determining whether penalties should be



assessed or collected for the employer’s failure to secure the payment of
compensation, the commission may consider the following factors:

(@) When the employer was notified that such employer’s
worker’s compensation insurance coverage had been cancelled or that such
insurance was required;

(b)  The length of time that elapsed between when the employer
was notified that worker’s compensation insurance coverage was required
or that such employer’s coverage had been cancelled, and the date that such
coverage was put into effect;

(c)  Whether the employer is able to document attempts to secure
worker’s compensation insurance coverage during the period of time that
such employer was without such coverage;

(d)  Whether there were prior instances in which the employer
failed to keep worker’s compensation insurance in effect or such coverage
was cancelled, and the reasons for such failure or cancellation;

(e)  The reasons that the employer is unable to obtain or keep in
effect worker’s compensation insurance coverage;

The above factors are not exclusive and the commission may consider any
other relevant factor.

The Idaho Industrial Commission is given discretion on assessing penalties.

Workers’ compensation rates are regulated pursuant to title 41, chapter 16, Idaho
Code. Idaho Code § 41-1612 provides in pertinent part as follows:

41-1612. Adherence to filings.

(2) No filing shall contain a minimum premium that is less than one
hundred fifty dollars ($150) or greater than three hundred dollars ($300).

Every insurer writing workers’ compensation coverage in Idaho files its rates with the
Director of the Idaho Department of Insurance. Idaho Code § 41-1606. Every insurer,
including the Idaho State Insurance Fund, writing workers’ compensation insurance in
Idaho shall be a member of a workers’ compensation rating organization. Idaho Code
§ 41-1615. The workers’ compensation rating organization currently operating in Idaho
is NCCIL.



CONCLUSION

All public and private employers are required to carry workers’ compensation
insurance unless they are expressly exempt pursuant to Idaho Code § 72-212. Absent
some unique situation that places the employer within one of the exemptions provided by
Idaho Code § 72-212, a small faith group would be required to carry workers’
compensation insurance. The penalty for failure to secure compensation is provided by
Idaho Code § 72-319, which gives the Industrial Commission discretion in assessing
penalties. Idaho Code § 41-1612 provides that a minimum premium must be within the
range of one hundred fifty dollars to three hundred dollars. The filing and approval of
workers’ compensation rates is under the authority of the Department of Insurance
pursuant to title 41, chapter 16, Idaho Code.

Sincerely,

ScoTT B. MUIR
Deputy Attorney General



