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The Honorable Joe R. Williams 
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700 West State Street 
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THIS CORRESPONDENCE IS A LEGAL GUIDELINE OF THE 
ATTORNEY GENERAL SUBMITTED FOR YOUR GUIDANCE 

Re: Calculation of Credited State Service 

Dear Mr. Williams: 

This is in response to your request for an interpretation of 
provisions of H.B. 419 enacted by the legislature in 1988. The 
act amends Idaho Code 3 67-5332 to change the formula by which 
credited state service is calculated. 

You have asked if credited state service for overtime work 
should be calculated on the basis of time worked or on the basis 
of the time and one-half pay rate. For example, should an 
employee working eight hours of overtime and receiving time and 
one-half pay (.I2 hours pay) be credited with eight hours of 
credited state service or 12 hours of credited state service. You 
have also asked if employees who terminate and receive a payoff of 
accrued vacation leave balances should accrue credited state 
service on such balances for purposes of sick and vacation leave. 

Idaho Code 5 67-5332 provides that the credited state service 
provisions of the section shall be used "For the purposes of 
payroll, vacation or annual leave, sick leave and for other 
applicable purposes. . . . " The only exception to the calculation 
provisions of the section deals with retirement system 
entitlements. 1988 legislative amendments to the section were 
made in subsections (3) and (5) as follows: 
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(3) One (1) hour of credited state 
service shall be earned by each eligible state 
officer or employee for each hour, or major 
fraction thereof, that the officer or 
employee Y f f $ 1  receives 
pay, whether for hours worked or on approved 
leave as provided in subsection (4 )  of this 
section. 

( 4 )  Credited state service shall be 
earned when on approved leave with pay, on 
approved vacation leave, approved military 
leave, on approved sick leave, and holidays. 

The amendments shown above change the basis upon which 
credited state service is earned from "hours present for duty" to 
hours for which the employee "receives pay." The amendments also 
repeal the prohibition against receiving credited state service 
for overtime pay. 

The effect of the amendments is to calculate credited state 
service based upon hours for which employees receive pay rather 
than on the hours they are present for duty. Thus, an employee 
receiving time and one-half overtime pay, e.g., 12 hours of pay 
for an eight hour shift, would now accrue credited state service 
based upon the 12 hours of pay received. Hours present for duty 
is no longer *he relevant standard and the prohibition against 
receiving credited state service for the overtime pay is no longer 
applicable. As noted above, calculation rules apply for purposes 
of payroll, vacation or annual leave, sick leave and other 
applicable purposes. The calculation rules do not apply to 
retirement system calculations pursuant to Idaho Code 5 6 7 - 5 3 3 2 ( 5 ) .  

You have also asked if employees who separate and receive a 
payoff of vacation leave accruals would accrue additional credited 
state service as a result of the payoff. Additional credited 
state service would not be earned from a payoff of vacation 
leave. Idaho Code § 6 7 - 5 3 3 2 ( 3 )  provides that employees receive 
credited state service for hours they receive pay "for hours 
worked or on approved leave." An employee receiving a payoff is 
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neither working nor "on approved leave." Thus, an employee should 
not receive credited state service for a payoff of vacation leave. 

Sincerely, 

C. >- &3LG4-- 
David G. High 
Deputy Attorney General 
Chief, Business Regulation 
and State Finance Division 


