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Dear Fellow Idahoan:

Consumer fraud is a serious problem in Idaho. Fortunately,
it is often preventable. As your Attorney General, I am
committed to working with you to prevent fraud. I will also
vigorously enforce Idaho’s consumer protection laws.

As a consumer, you can protect yourself from fraud by
understanding your rights and by making informed and
intelligent decisions.

My office publishes the Idaho Consumer Protection Manual
in order to help you avoid fraud and to assist you in
exercising your rights if you become a victim of consumer
fraud. I hope that it helps you become informed about topics
of consumer interest.

In addition to this overview manual, my office fulfills its
consumer education mission by publishing additional
materials providing more detail on specific topics. All of the
publications are available at no cost to you through the
Consumer Protection Division and on my website at
www.ag.idaho.gov.

If you have been a victim of consumer fraud, I encourage
you to contact my Consumer Protection Division. The
statewide, toll-free number is (800) 432-3545. In the Boise
area, please call (208) 334-2424. TDD service for the
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hearing impaired is available. We also have Language Line
translation services for Idahoans who do not speak English.

Informed consumers are Idaho’s best defense against
consumer fraud.

LAWRENCE WASDEN
Attorney General
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THE CONSUMER PROTECTION DIVISION

The Consumer Protection Division is part of the Office of
Attorney General. The Consumer Protection Division
enforces the Idaho Consumer Protection Act, the Idaho
Telephone Solicitation Act, the Idaho Pay-Per-Telephone
Call Act, the Idaho Charitable Solicitation Act, the Idaho
Competition Act and related rules on behalf of the State of
Idaho. You can read these laws and rules on the Attorney
General’s Internet site at www.ag.idaho.gov.

The Consumer Protection Division also helps consumers and
businesses resolve disputes.

In 1971, the Idaho Legislature passed the Consumer
Protection Act to protect consumers and businesses against
unfair methods of competition and unfair or deceptive
business practices. The Office of Attorney General, as
authorized by the legislature, has promulgated rules
interpreting the Consumer Protection Act.

The Attorney General enforces the Consumer Protection Act
on behalf of the State of Idaho. The Consumer Protection
Division investigates complaints involving ongoing patterns
of illegal activity in trade and commerce, with emphasis on
the most serious cases involving widespread injury to Idaho
consumers.

The Consumer Protection Act also allows consumers to seek
legal remedies through private lawsuits.

The Consumer Protection Act encourages consumers who
have been damaged by deceptive trade practices to seek
redress. A court may award the consumer a minimum
recovery of $1,000, recovery of attorney fees and, at the
judge's discretion, costs and punitive damages upon the
showing of a violation of the Consumer Protection Act or the
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Idaho Rules of Consumer Protection and a loss to the
consumer.

Idaho law allows consumers who are at least 62 years old or
who are disabled to recover additional damages from an
individual who violates the Consumer Protection Act.
Elderly and disabled consumers are entitled to receive the
greater of $15,000 or triple the amount of actual damages if
the court finds: (1) the offender knew or should have known
that the victim was elderly or disabled; and (2) the offender’s
conduct resulted in the loss or encumbrance of the elderly or
disabled victim’s home or the loss of more than 25% of the
victim’s income, money or retirement funds.

HOW TO CONTACT THE CONSUMER
PROTECTION DIVISION

You can call the Consumer Protection Division, toll-free,
from any location in Idaho. In the Boise calling area, our
number is (208) 334-2424. Outside the Boise area,
call (800) 432-3545.

The Consumer Protection Division is located near the corner
of 10th and Jefferson on the 2nd floor, 954 W. Jefferson,
Boise. Our hours are 8 am. to 5 p.m. (Mountain Time),
Monday through Friday.

Our mailing address is:

Office of the Attorney General
Consumer Protection Division
PO Box 83720

Boise, ID 83720-0010

Consumers wishing to file a complaint must complete a
written complaint form and return it to the Boise office. You
will find a “print and mail” complaint form on the Attorney



General’s Internet site, www.ag.idaho.gov, or you may call
us, and we will mail a complaint form to you.

WHAT THE CONSUMER PROTECTION DIVISION
DOES

The Consumer Protection Division helps protect individuals
and businesses from deceptive practices by working in three
major areas:

e Consumer education
e Complaint mediation

e Litigation
Consumer Education

The Consumer Protection Division helps Idaho consumers
help themselves. We focus our educational efforts on:

e Helping consumers learn to prevent a problem from
occurring; and

e Helping consumers learn how to deal with a problem
that has occurred.

To accomplish these goals, the Consumer Protection
Division provides consumer information through the
Attorney General’s website, sponsors television and radio
public service announcements, publishes pamphlets on
consumer topics, informs the media about current scams and
makes presentations to community groups. To schedule an
educational presentation, call the Consumer Protection
Division.

Mediation of Complaints

Mediation relies on the voluntary cooperation of both sides
of a complaint--usually a business and a consumer. Each of
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our Consumer Specialists acts as a "go between" or buffer
for the parties who may find it difficult to communicate with
one another directly. Because of the large number of
complaints we receive, almost all of the mediation is
accomplished by correspondence. A Consumer Specialist
forwards a consumer's written complaint to the business,
along with a letter requesting a response from the business.
Mediation will often resolve the consumer’s complaints.
When mediation is not successful, the complaining party
may choose to consult with a private attorney and consider
pursuing legal action privately.

Litigation

The Consumer Protection Division files lawsuits on behalf of
the State of Idaho as determined by the Attorney General on
a case-by-case basis. Three statutory requirements must be
met before the Attorney General can begin a consumer
protection lawsuit:

e The Attorney General must have reason to believe
that a person is using, has used or is about to use any
method, act or practice in violation of the Act;

e Legal proceedings must be in the public interest;' and

e Except in limited circumstances, the Attorney
General must have allowed the business or individual
the opportunity of entering into an Assurance of
Voluntary Compliance or Stipulation and Consent
Judgment.

Once the Attorney General determines that litigation is

' Some of the factors the Attorney General considers in making this
determination are: 1) potential numbers of victims (i.e., statewide or
regional significance); 2) dollar amount involved; 3) the offensiveness
or outrageousness of the acts and 4) likelihood of continued violations of
the Act without state intervention.



warranted, the methods used to stop the illegal act may vary.
The Attorney General is authorized to seek injunctions,
restitution, civil penalties and other remedies.

WHAT THE CONSUMER PROTECTION DIVISION
DOES NOT DO

The Attorney General's Office cannot provide legal advice or
opinions to individuals or businesses. Tip sheets, brochures
and news releases are available to the public, but our only
client is the State of Idaho. The Consumer Protection
Division may act only for the public interest. We cannot
represent the interests of private individuals.

PROTECTING YOURSELF
FROM CONSUMER FRAUD

GENERAL RULES

Before you make a major purchase, we recommend you read
this manual and consider these ten tips for consumer
survival:

1. Ifit seems too good to be true, it probably is.

2. Read. Ask questions. Comparison shop. Know the
market.

3. Insist that all claims, promises and warranties be in
writing.

4. Never sign anything you haven't read or don't
understand.

5. Cool off for 24 hours before you buy. In most cases,
you don't have the right to change your mind after
you make a major purchase.

6. Never give your credit card or checking account

number to a telephone or mail solicitor if you don't
know and trust the company.



7. Obtain written estimates before you have any repairs
made.

8. Know whom to call for help. Check with your local
Better Business Bureau or the Attorney General’s
Consumer Protection Division.

9. Keep receipts, sales slips and warranties for as long
as you own the product.

10. Remember, it is your money. Don't be intimidated.
You can always take your business elsewhere.

ADDRESSING PROBLEMS

If you are already involved in a transaction you believe
violates the Consumer Protection Act, gather all the written
information you have pertaining to the problem. This may
include ads, brochures, contracts, letters, warranties and
other documents. Write a short statement about what
happened to you. Include the name of the company, how
much money you paid, how much you owe, with whom you
spoke, when the transaction took place, names of witnesses
and other important information. This information will be
important in contacting the business, as outlined below.

CONTACTING THE BUSINESS

Many consumer problems can be quickly and satisfactorily
resolved by contacting the business directly.  These
suggestions might make your contact with the business more
efficient and productive:

Calling or Visiting the Business

e Be prepared. Have ready all the information you will
need to explain the problem.



e Speak to the person with the authority to grant the
remedy you desire and make a note of his or her
name.

e Be polite but firm.

e Concisely state the problem and the resolution you
would like.

e Conclude the call with a restatement of what has been
agreed.

e Make written notes about the call.

e Write a letter to confirm the conversation and the
substance of any agreement.

Writing a Letter to the Business

e Write a neat business letter, typed, if possible.

e Address it to the person with the authority to grant
the remedy you desire.

e Supply the necessary facts, including identification of
the goods, what happened, your previous attempts to
get satisfaction, the remedy you desire and any
serious consequences you have suffered because of
the problem.

e Maintain a calm, rational tone.
e Request specific action by a specific date.
e Keep your letter short.

¢ Enclose copies (not originals) of receipts, contracts or
other relevant information.

e Make a copy of your letter and save it.

e Send the letter certified mail, return receipt requested.
FILING A COMPLAINT

If the business has engaged in false, misleading, deceptive or



unconscionable acts or practices, the Consumer Protection
Division may be able to help. You should contact the
business directly and try to resolve your dispute before
contacting the Consumer Protection Division.

If your contact with the business has been unsuccessful, you
may file a complaint with the Consumer Protection Division.
You can obtain a complaint form from the Attorney
General’s website at www.ag.idaho.gov or by calling the
Consumer Protection Division.

The Consumer Protection Division cannot give you specific
legal advice, and it cannot act as your private attorney.
However, we will contact the business in writing and ask for
a response to your complaint. This frequently takes several
weeks and sometimes may take months.

Because we receive a large number of complaints, your
complaint must be in writing.

In stating your complaint, be specific. If your statement is
too long to fit in the space provided, use additional paper.
Include the details about representations you believe are
deceptive, misleading or false. State the kind of relief you
are seeking from the business, such as an exchange, a repair
or a refund. Attach copies of relevant papers, such as
contracts, invoices, brochures and canceled checks. Do not
send any original documents. Be sure to sign and date the
complaint form before mailing it to the Consumer Protection
Division.

NOTE: We will send your complaint to the
business that is the subject of your complaint,
unless you specifically ask us not to forward it.
Your complaint will also become part of the
Consumer Protection Division's permanent
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records and will be available to the public
under Idaho's Public Records Law.

PRIVATE CAUSE OF ACTION - SMALL CLAIMS
COURT

Every county in Idaho has a small claims court in which
claims for up to $5,000 may be brought against any Idaho
resident. The lawsuit must be filed in the county where the
defendant resides or in the county where the dispute arose.
While they are official court cases, small claims hearings are
designed to be quick and somewhat informal - to provide
parties with an inexpensive method of settling minor claims.
Information on how to file a small claims suit is available at
your local Court Assistance office or, online, at
www.courtselthelp.idaho.gov.

Attorneys may not represent clients in small claims court.
However, before you decide to bring an action in small
claims court, you may be wise to seek a private attorney's
advice on how to proceed with a private cause of action
under the Consumer Protection Act.

CONTRACTS

Virtually all consumer purchases are made pursuant to a
contract. Sometimes the contract is oral, sometimes it is in
writing. Whether you are buying a car, getting cell phone or
Internet service, or renting an apartment, it will be pursuant
to a contract. As a result, it is imperative that you read and
understand the contract before you complete the purchase.
Keep the following points in mind when you are considering
any purchase:

e There is no 3-day right to cancel in Idaho. Except for
telemarketing and certain door to door sales, there is
no 3-day cooling off period.
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e If you sign a contract, it is binding. If you break the
contract, you can be sued. Your signature on a
contract indicates that you have read and understood
the contract -- even if you haven't.

e Protect yourself by getting a written agreement. The
terms agreed on must be in the contract. Oral
contracts are legally binding but difficult to enforce.
You can still be legally responsible if you make an
oral contract.

e The contract governs. In cases such as
landlord/tenant leases, there are not many laws
regulating specific details.

e Not all contracts have the word "Contract" typed
across the top. Receipts, sales slips, tickets,
guarantees --even parking valet stubs -- can all serve
as contracts.

BEFORE YOU SIGN A CONTRACT:

e When you're making a major purchase, insist on
seeing the contract well in advance of signing it.
Take a copy home overnight so you have plenty of
time to read and understand it.

e Don’t let the salesperson pressure you into signing.

e Don't rely on the salesperson's summary of what the
contract means. Read the entire contract and make
sure you understand it. If you have trouble with the
language, get someone to help read it with you.

e Study the content to make sure the terms you and the
seller agreed upon are included.

e Never sign a contract that contains blanks. Negotiate
for terms that you are comfortable with.

e Be aware that some contracts eliminate the right to
sue. Often, contracts require binding arbitration.

10



If you want a clause added or deleted for your
protection, write it in or ask for a manager. If the
business refuses, consider taking your business
elsewhere.

Read credit applications before you sign. Don’t sign
if the information is not true.

Make your signature big when you sign a contract.
Sign your name large enough so that it overlaps the
lines above it, so it's hard for the company to cut and
paste.

Never leave the business without a signed copy of
your contract in hand.

RESOLVING PROBLEMS WITH YOUR CONTRACT:

If you think you were mislead or deceived, you can
file a complaint with the Attorney General’s Office.
You can get a complaint form at www.ag.idaho.gov
or by calling (208) 334-2424 or, toll-free,
(800) 432-3545.

You can file a complaint with the Better Business
Bureau at www.bbb.org.

If you need help finding a private attorney, contact
the Idaho State Bar Lawyer Referral Service at
(208) 334-4500 or visit the State Bar’s website:
www.isb.idaho.gov.

MOTOR VEHICLES

BUYING A NEW CAR

Before you start shopping for a new car, determine what you
can afford to pay. Then stick to your budget. Learn the true
value of the vehicle you are considering before beginning to
discuss trade-in values and credit terms. Negotiate the
purchase price, trade-in and financing separately. These are

11
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really three separate transactions. Check with several
financing sources before you purchase a vehicle on credit.

Be wary of automobile dealers who adjust the figures on
your trade-in to "make the deal look better to the bank." This
is an illegal activity intended to deceive the bank into
believing it is adequately secured on the loan when it is not.
If the dealer suggests this type of unlawful activity, walk
away. If you enter into this type of illegal transaction you
are most likely "getting in too deep." If you can't make your
payments, your car may be repossessed, and you could be
required to pay the remaining balance and other fees after the
vehicle is resold.

Don’t allow pressure, guilt or intimidation to influence your
decision, and don't be pressured into buying something you
don't want or need. It is always a good idea to comparison
shop before making your decision to purchase. A great offer
today will most likely still be available tomorrow or next
week. Take your time. Wait a day or two before you make a
final decision. You can avoid buyer's remorse after-the-fact
by being a smart shopper before-the-fact.

Idaho does not have a “cooling off" period applicable to
vehicle purchases. Do not be mislead into thinking you can
buy a car and then cancel the purchase contract within three
(3) business days if you change your mind.

Read and understand the new car warranty before you buy.
The Federal Trade Commission requires the dealer to make
all warranties available prior to the sale. Inspect the vehicle
before you take delivery. If you find any problems, refuse
delivery until they are corrected. Do not accept oral
promises such as, "We'll take care of those problems at the
first service." Oral promises are difficult to prove and
enforce. Insist that all promises and warranties be made in
writing.

12



Some, but not all, Idaho automobile dealers charge a "dealer
documentation fee" for completing sales paperwork. A
"dealer documentation fee" is not a state imposed fee. It is
unlawful for a dealer to charge such a fee if it has not been
clearly and conspicuously disclosed in connection with the
advertised price.

BUYING A USED CAR

Federal law requires used car dealers to display a "Buyers
Guide" sticker on each used car. The Buyers Guide gives
you important information and suggestions to consider,
including:

e whether the vehicle comes with a warranty and, if so,
what specific protection the dealer will provide;

e whether the vehicle comes with no warranty ("as is")
or with implied warranties only;

e that you should ask to have the car inspected by an
independent mechanic before you buy;

e that you should get all promises in writing and

e some of the major problems that may occur in any
car.

Before you buy a used car, find out as much as you can
about the car's history and maintenance record. Check a
trusted database for information on the car’s history, such as
title, damage, and odometer data. Remember, there is no
three-day "cooling off" period when purchasing a new or
used car. If a used car is sold "as is", there is no express or
implied warranty. If the dealer makes oral promises, make
sure the dealer writes those promises into the Buyers Guide
before you sign it. Keep copies of all warranties. Without
them, you may have no recourse against the seller if you
have problems with the car.

13



The federal Anti-Tampering Odometer Law protects car
buyers from the deceptive practice of concealing a car's true
mileage by turning back or disconnecting the odometer. The
Act also prohibits odometer fraud. Every seller of a motor
vehicle must provide, at the time of sale, a written statement,
which includes the following information:

e the odometer reading at the time of the transfer;
e the date of the transfer;
o the seller's name, address and signature;

e the make, body type, year, model and vehicle
identification number;

e a statement certifying that the seller is complying
with the Motor Vehicle Information and Cost Savings
Act of 1972 and is aware of his civil liability under
this provision and

e if the seller has reason to believe that the mileage
reading on the odometer is incorrect, the disclosure
statement must indicate that the actual mileage
traveled is unknown. The term "seller" includes any
person who transfers a motor vehicle, whether by
purchase, gift or any other means.

IDAHO'S LEMON LAW

Idaho's Lemon Law governs motor vehicles that are subject
to a manufacturer's written warranty. If your motor vehicle
is a "lemon," the manufacturer is required to replace it with a
comparable new vehicle or refund the purchase price,
including the value of any trade-in, not to exceed one
hundred five percent (105%) of the manufacturer’s suggested
retail price of the motor vehicle. The manufacturer may
deduct a reasonable charge for your use of the vehicle.

To be considered a "lemon," the vehicle must have a defect
that substantially impairs its use, value or safety, and the
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manufacturer, its agent or dealer must not have been able to
correct the problem after a reasonable number of attempts.
The vehicle is not considered a “lemon” if your abuse,
neglect or unauthorized modifications or alterations of the
vehicle caused the problem.

The law presumes the manufacturer had a reasonable number
of attempts to repair the motor vehicle if, within two years of
the date you took delivery or 24,000 miles (whichever comes
first), the vehicle was in for repairs for the same problem at
least four times, or it was out of service because of repairs
for a total of 30 or more business days. You may still have a
Lemon Law claim if repairs occur after 24,000 miles or two
years but before the manufacturer’s warranty expires,
provided that you first reported the problem to the
manufacturer, its agent or authorized dealer during the term
of the vehicle’s applicable express warranty. However, this
type of claim will be much harder to prove.

To qualify under Idaho's Lemon Law, your motor vehicle:

e must have been purchased or licensed in the state of
Idaho;

e must be subject to the manufacturer's written
warranty;

e must be a car, truck or van weighing 12,000 lbs. or
less and

e must normally be used for personal, family or
household purposes.

If you need to have your vehicle repaired during the
warranty period, it is important to get repair orders for all
warranty work performed. This will help you preserve your
legal remedies under Idaho's Lemon Law. Ask for detailed
repair orders. Keep them in a file. Be sure the repair orders
indicate how many days the motor vehicle was in the shop

15



and that the repair orders describe the problem(s) in detail.
Make sure that the same description is used on the repair
order each time the motor vehicle goes in for the same
problem.

Idaho’s Lemon Law provides a private cause of action. The
Attorney General’s Office does not represent consumers with
Lemon Law claims. However, more information is available
in a separate publication, /daho’s Lemon Law, available from
the Consumer Protection Division and on the Attorney
General’s website.

REPAIRING A CAR

When you leave your car with a mechanic for repairs, you
should expressly limit the dollar amount you authorize for
repairs, improvements or services. It is an unfair and
deceptive practice for the provider of the repairs,
improvements or service to exceed that limit without first
obtaining your express oral or written consent.

Remember, however, that if you request an estimate for the
cost of repair, it is just an approximation of the amount that
may be involved in the repair work. When the work is
actually done, the cost may be more or less than was
estimated. If your car needs unforeseen repairs or
improvements that would unreasonably or substantially
increase the originally-estimated cost, the repair person must
obtain your oral or written authorization before performing
and charging you for the additional repairs. If the
repairperson fails to obtain your authorization for the
additional costs of repair, you are not legally obligated to pay
those additional costs under the Consumer Protection Act
and related rules.

You are entitled to get your old parts back if you so
requested when new parts were installed, unless the

16



replacement was made under a warranty or unless the price
of the new parts was reduced in consideration for keeping
the old parts.

You are entitled to an itemized billing or a copy of the work
order if you ask for one, unless you agreed in a contract to be
billed on a lump sum basis.

REPAIRING OR REMODELING
YOUR HOME

RESIDENTIAL CONSTRUCTION

There are several things you should consider when selecting
a general contractor for residential construction or home
improvement.

CONTRACTOR REGISTRATION

Idaho law requires contractors to register with the Idaho
State Contractors Board. To verify that a contractor you are
considering hiring is registered, call the Bureau of
Occupational Licenses at (208) 334-3233 or contact the
Board at:

Idaho Contractors Board

Idaho Bureau of Occupational Licenses
700 West State Street

PO Box 83720

Boise, ID 83720-0063

Although contractors must register, it is still your
responsibility to do sufficient research before hiring a
contractor. You must decide what work is to be done, what
it will take to do the job, how much you are willing to spend
and what type of professional you need.

You should also protect yourself from many of the common
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pitfalls of building or remodeling. The most frequent
consumer complaints are about higher than expected cost,
missed deadlines and poor workmanship. Sometimes these
problems are not evident when the work is completed.
Instead, they can surprise you months later.

To avoid costly mistakes and misunderstandings with a
contractor, consider the following information.

NOTICES

In Idaho, the general contractor must give the homeowner or
residential real property purchaser a disclosure statement
before entering into a contract with a homeowner or a
residential real property purchaser, if the contract exceeds
$2,000. The disclosure statement must inform the
homeowner or residential real property purchaser that the
homeowner has the right to:

e require the general contractor to obtain lien waivers
from any subcontractors working with the general
contractor (at the reasonable expense of the
homeowner);

e ask the general contractor for proof of general
liability insurance and workers compensation
insurance, as required by law;

e purchase an extended policy of title insurance
covering liens and

e require a surety bond (at the expense of the
homeowner) in an amount up to the value of the
construction project.

By the end of the project, the general contractor must give
the homeowner or residential real property purchaser a list of
all subcontractors, material men and rental equipment
providers directly hired or working for the contractor who
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have done work or supplied materials in excess of $500. The
list should include business names, addresses, and phone
numbers. The list must be given to the homeowner before
the closing of the sales agreement or before the homeowner
provides final payment to the general contractor.

HOW TO CHOOSE A CONTRACTOR

Select a general contractor with great care and consider the
following:

Ask  friends and family members  for
recommendations.

Ask the general contractor for the company’s full
business name, address and telephone number, and
verify them. A post office box, with no street
address, is not acceptable.

Verify that the contractor is registered with the Idaho
State Contractors Board. Inquire as to whether the
contractor has been subject to disciplinary action by
the Board.

Call the Better Business Bureau (BBB) in the area
where the contractor’s business is located, or check
on the web at www.bbb.org, to see if any complaints
have been filed against the company. Check to see if
there are any unresolved cases and how long the
contracting company has been in business under its
current name. Some of the less reputable companies
frequently change names in order to avoid being
located.

Check the records at the county magistrate court and
district court to see if any claims have been filed
against the contractor or company.

Ask if the contractor is a member of a professional or
trade association that has a code of ethics and a
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process to arbitrate disputes, such as the Idaho
Building Contractors Association. You can write to
the Idaho Building Contractors Association at 6206
N. Discovery Way, Suite A, Boise ID 83713, or call
(208) 378-0101.

Ask for a list of previous customers whom you can
contact for references. Contact the references to find
out if they are satisfied with the contractor, if there
were problems and, if so, the nature of the problems
and whether the problems were resolved to the
customer’s satisfaction.

Compare construction costs by getting written
itemized estimates or bids from several contractors.
Each estimate should describe the same building
specifications, materials and time frame for
completion.

Verify prices for building materials quoted in the
estimate by contacting building supply companies.
You may also ask the supply company about
previous dealings with your prospective contractor.

Avoid contractors who pressure you into quickly
signing a contract.

Do not automatically select the lowest bidder.
Beware of:

o Unknown or out-of-town businesses in unmarked
trucks or vans.

o Door-to-door salespeople and telephone solicitors
promising quick jobs and bargain prices.

o Organizations that offer a bargain rate because
their “equipment is already in the neighborhood.”

o Businesses that advertise “special introductory
offers.”

o Contractors who use high pressure, scare or
threatening sales tactics.

20



WHAT YOU SHOULD KNOW ABOUT THE
GENERAL CONTRACTOR’S INSURANCE
COVERAGE

Ask to see a copy of your general contractor’s insurance
certificate or the name of the insurance carrier and agency.
Verify the coverage. General contractors should have
property damage insurance to protect you from lawsuits if an
accident happens on your property. A general liability
policy in the sum of at least three hundred thousand dollars
($300,000) is required to meet contractor registration
requirements under Idaho law. Worker’s compensation
coverage should also be considered to cover potential worker
injuries that may occur. Do not do business with any general
contractor who does not have sufficient coverage.

RESIDENTIAL CONSTRUCTION/HOME
IMPROVEMENT CONTRACT

A residential construction or home improvement contract
should be in writing and include:

e The date of the contract.

e The general contractor’s full name, street address and
telephone number.

e The names of any subcontractors.

e A complete description of all work to be done.

e The grade and quality of all materials to be used.
e An agreed upon starting and completion date.

e The cost of the total project.

e A payment schedule showing the amount and date of
each payment.

e A copy of all warranties and guarantees.

e Documentation of any financing arrangements.
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Tips To Consider Before Signing a Contract

e Before signing any contract, you may want to consult
a private attorney because, once signed, the contract
will govern legal rights in your relationship with the
contractor.

e Make sure that the contract contains all the terms of
the agreement and that you have read and understand
everything in the contract.

e Keep a signed, readable copy of the contract in a safe
place.

e Make sure all verbal promises are included in the
written contract. Be sure that the materials you select
are what you want. Be sure the contract includes
everything you feel is important to the job.

e Avoid costly overruns by making your construction
decisions before construction has begun.

e If you need to borrow money to finance the
construction work, add a clause to your contract
stating that it is valid only if financing is obtained.

e Don’t agree to a large down payment. Payments
should be made upon the progress of the work. You
should include a contract provision allowing you to
withhold a certain sum, such as ten percent (10%),
until the work is completed satisfactorily.

e Never sign a partially blank contract. Fill in or draw
a line through any blank spaces.

e If you have any questions about the contract or do not
understand any of its terms, ask for clarification
before you sign it.

e If you sign a home improvement contract at home
and it’s for more than $25, you have three days to
cancel the contract, as outlined under the Door-to-
Door Sales section of this manual.
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WHAT TO KEEP IN A JOB FILE

You should keep a file with all papers related to the
residential construction or home improvement job, including:

The contract and any change orders.
Plans and specifications.

Bills and invoices.

Canceled checks.

Letters, notes and correspondence with the general
contractor.

Lien releases from subcontractors and material
suppliers.

A record sheet on each subcontractor, listing the
work performed and the length of time on the job.

WHAT TO DO WHEN THE PROJECT IS FINISHED

Thoroughly inspect all work before making final
payment.

Review the entire project with the general contractor.

Immediately point out any defects, and be sure they
are corrected.

Require the general contractor to provide an affidavit
of completion when the work is finished.

Do not sign a completion certificate until the
city/county building inspection department has
certified that all work was performed in accordance
with code standards, you have proof that all
subcontractors have been paid in full and you are
completely satisfied with the job.

Withhold the percentage agreed upon in the contract
until the job is completed, you are satisfied with the
work that has been done and you have proof that all
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subcontractors and employees have been paid.
WHAT TO DO IF YOU HAVE A COMPLAINT

First, discuss the problem with the contractor. Speak to the
manager or the owner about the problem, and follow up by
sending a certified letter confirming all details of the
conversation. Keep records of all conversations you have
with the contractor and any letters you send to or receive
from the contractor. If direct contact with the contractor
does not solve the problem, file a complaint with the Bureau
of Occupational Licenses at:

Idaho Bureau of Occupational Licenses
700 West State Street

PO Box 83720

Boise, ID 83720-0063

You can also file a complaint online at www.ibol.idaho.gov
or call (208) 334-3233 for more information.

LIVING TRUSTS

Living trusts are not for everyone. However, they can be a
valuable estate planning tool if your estate justifies it. Living
trusts are frequently marketed as a way to protect an estate
from probate, but, for most people, probate is a relatively
quick and inexpensive process.

The sale of living trusts is unregulated in Idaho, and many
people selling living trusts are inadequately informed to
advise you on the issues relating to living trusts and estate
planning. Senior citizens are frequently targeted by people
selling living trust packages.

Consumers who have purchased living trusts frequently
complain that, after paying a substantial sum for the trust
documents, they are left with inadequate direction or help in
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funding the trust. Without proper funding, a trust is
ineffective and, upon death, your estate would probably have
to be probated. In that situation, heirs may experience
frustration and increased expenses in trying to unravel your
estate.

Other consumer complaints against marketers of living trusts
include:

e cxaggeration of the time, cost and complexity
involved in probating a will;

e false assurances that assets in a living trust cannot be
attached by creditors;

e false assurances that the income of living trusts in
Idaho, drafted according to laws of other states, is
exempt from Idaho income tax;

e the misleading use of estates of wealthy, famous
people as examples to illustrate the benefits of living
trusts when, in fact, the average consumer's estate
cannot reasonably be compared to such examples and

e misrepresentations regarding a consumer's ability to
control assets placed in a living trust.

If you are concerned about estate planning issues, contact
your lawyer, accountant or tax planner to discuss what estate
planning tools will best serve your needs.

LIVING WILLS

Living wills provide direction on how medical treatment
should be provided or withheld if you become unable to
communicate your wishes due to sickness or accident.

Forms for Living Wills with Durable Power of Attorney for
Health Care are available from the Attorney General’s
website at www.ag.idaho.gov.
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The State of Idaho maintains a health care directive registry
in the Idaho Secretary of State’s Office. Idaho residents may
place their living wills and durable powers of attorney on the
registry for a fee. In case of an emergency, you or your
health care providers would be able to access your registered
documents from different locations.

A living will is often sold as part of a living trust package.
You should be suspicious of salespeople who point to living
wills as a justification for high costs of a living trust
package.

In order to determine which plan will best benefit you, the
Attorney General strongly urges you to seek estate planning
advice from professionals.

TELECOMMUNICATIONS
THE NO CALL LAWS

Idaho’s No Call Law helps you reduce the number of
unwanted phone solicitations you receive. Under Idaho law,
it is illegal for telemarketers to call Idaho phone numbers
registered on the National Do Not Call Registry.

The National Do Not Call Law operates similarly to Idaho’s
No Call Law. Telemarketers may not call registered
telephone numbers. A telemarketer who does call a
registered number can face court action and civil penalties
under state and federal law.

Registering for the No Call Laws

The Federal Trade Commission (FTC) administers the
National Do Not Call Registry.

The Attorney General encourages Idahoans who do not want
to receive telephone solicitations to register their residential
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and mobile phone numbers. Registration is free.

You can register your home and/or cellular phone number(s)
on the National Do Not Call Registry by going to the FTC’s
online registry at www.donotcall.gov or by calling, toll-free,
(888) 382-1222. When you register on the FTC’s registry,
your numbers are covered by both the state and federal No
Call Laws. For convenience, there is a link to the FTC
registration site on the Attorney General’s website.

Filing a Complaint

If you have been registered on the National Do Not Call
Registry for at least three months and have received a
telemarketing call, you may submit a telemarketer complaint
to the Attorney General’s Office as well as the FTC.
Information on how to file an Idaho No Call Law complaint
is available on the Attorney General’s website. A
telemarketing call is defined as an unsolicited phone call
from someone with whom you do not have a business
relationship (no transaction within 18 months and/or no
inquiry regarding the caller’s products or services within 3
months), and the ultimate purpose of the call is to sell
products or services. Examples of unsolicited phone calls
that are exempt from the No Call Laws include: requests for
donations to charitable or political causes, requests for
political  support, surveys/polling/research and debt
collection.

TELEPHONE SOLICITATION

While many telemarketers are engaged in legitimate
business, many people report deception by telemarketers. In
response, the legislature enacted the Idaho Telephone
Solicitation Act. This law grants consumers certain rights
and places specific duties upon telephone solicitors. It is
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designed to safeguard the public against deception and
financial hardship.

The best way to combat deceptive telemarketers is to be
informed. Take time to research a business and to carefully
consider a purchase before finalizing it.

Consumer Rights

Under the Telephone Solicitation Act, you are entitled, in
most situations, to:

e receive written confirmation regarding any purchase
of goods or services made during the course of a
telephone call,

e request and be provided with an itemized billing of
goods or services purchased,

e cancel any purchase made over the phone, without
obligation, up to three (3) business days after
receiving written confirmation and

e pursue a private lawsuit against a telemarketer who
has engaged in deceptive and/or misleading selling
tactics during an unsolicited sales call.

Notice of Cancellation

As noted, you may cancel a telephone sales transaction,
without penalty or obligation, within three business days of
the date you receive written confirmation of the purchase.

The business must return your payments within ten business
days of receiving the cancellation notice.

When you cancel a transaction, you must return the goods to
the business within 21 days of the date the refund is
received.
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To cancel the transaction, you must mail or deliver a written
cancellation notice, signed and dated. This must be done no
later than midnight of the third business day after receiving
the written confirmation of the purchase.

Contact the business for its return mailing address if the
business does not clearly provide a return mailing address.

Telemarketer Responsibilities

e Telemarketers must clearly state that they are making
a sales call.

e Telemarketers must clearly identify the company and
the nature of the product or service being offered for
sale.

e If the call is in regard to a prize promotion, the
telemarketer must state, “No purchase or payment is
necessary to win.” (This must be clearly explained to
the consumer before or with the prize description.)

e Upon the request of a consumer, telemarketers must
disclose their telemarketing registration number that
has been assigned by the Idaho Attorney General’s
Office. The registration number does not indicate
that the Attorney General’s Office is endorsing the
business; it is simply for reference and record
keeping purposes.

e A telemarketer is restricted to making phone calls
between the hours of 8§ a.m. and 9 p.m. They may
call seven days a week and on holidays.

Unlawful Acts
It is unlawful for a telephone solicitor to:

e intimidate or torment any person in connection with a
telephone solicitation,
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e fail to hang up and free a consumer’s telephone line
immediately upon request,

e misrepresent the price, quality or availability of
goods or services being offered for purchase,

e use any device or method that may block the phone
number or mislead the recipient as to the identity of
the solicitor on a caller identification device (NOTE:
Due to their location, some telephone numbers may
display as “unavailable” or “out of area.”) and

e advertise, represent or imply that they have approval
or endorsement of any government office or agency
unless such is a fact. (It is a good idea for consumers
to verify this with the government agency directly
before making a purchase with the organization.)

The Attorney General’s Office does not endorse
businesses or solicitations. If a telemarketer claims that the
office has endorsed a telemarketer or his products, you
should consider the claim false and report the false claim to
the Attorney General.

CRAMMING

Cramming is the term used to describe the addition of
charges to your telephone bill for services you did not
knowingly authorize. Unauthorized charges for voice mail
service, 800 number service or calling cards are common
forms of cramming.

Cramming is a violation of the Idaho Consumer Protection
Act. It is also prohibited by Federal Communications
Commission (FCC) rules.

To protect yourself from cramming, check every page of
your phone bill each month to make sure you are not being
charged for services you did not order.
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If you discover unauthorized charges, here are some steps
you can follow:

First, notify your local phone company that you are disputing
the unauthorized charges.

Second, contact the company that placed the unauthorized
charges on your account and request that your account be
cleared of all charges. The name of each service provider
and its toll-free number should be listed on your telephone
bill.

Finally, you may file a complaint with the Consumer
Protection Division against the company that added the
charges to your account. You may also file a complaint with
the FCC and the Idaho Public Utilities Commission.

UNSOLICITED FAXES

Unsolicited fax advertising is illegal in Idaho. Businesses
and residences receive unsolicited advertising over their fax
machines every day. The ads are frequently “fax blasted” by
third party marketing companies. To help you limit the
number of junk faxes you receive, you may consider the
following options:

If you receive faxes through your computer, you can install a
fax-filtering program that will prevent junk faxes from
reaching you.

Unplug your fax machine whenever you’re not using it. If
you have different fax and phone numbers, you can disable
your fax machine when you aren’t sending or expecting a
fax.

You have a private right of action for a violation of the
federal Telephone Consumer Protection Act, 47 USC 227.
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For additional information about filing a lawsuit against a
faxer, contact a private attorney.

You may file a complaint with the Attorney General’s
Consumer Protection Division or the FCC.

900 PAY-PER-TELEPHONE CALL SERVICES

Most "900" telephone calls range from a few dollars per
minute to $50 or more per minute. Federal law requires
advertisements to disclose the per-minute rate or flat fee.
When a 900 number is dialed, there must be an introductory
message describing the service and the cost of the call.

Always check your phone bill for 900 number charges. Each
charge should include the date, time and, if billed on a per-
minute rate, length of the call. There should also be a local
or toll-free number to call about the pay-per-call charges.

If you find an error on your bill, follow the instructions on
your statement. They will tell you who to call or write to
dispute the charges. You must notify the company listed
within 60 days from the date the first statement containing
the error was sent.

Your telephone company cannot disconnect your phone for
failure to pay these "900" charges. For policy information
related to long distance carriers, call the carrier or the Idaho
Public Utilities Commission.

The Idaho Pay-Per-Telephone Call Act requires full
disclosure of all the costs of every "900" call that will cost
more than $2.00.

Furthermore, the Act requires a “presubscription or
comparable agreement” from the caller before charges for
adult entertainment calls can be collected. A presubscription
or comparable agreement is:
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1. a written contractual agreement between an
information provider and a legally competent person
that is executed for the sole purpose of arranging
purchase of pay-per-telephone call services; or

2. adisclosure of a pre-existing credit, prepaid account,
debit, charge, or calling card number, along with
authorization to bill that number.

You do not have to pay the bill if these requirements are
violated. In addition, the violator is subject to civil penalties.
The Idaho Pay-Per-Telephone Call Act also grants
enforcement powers to the Attorney General.

COUNTERFEIT CHECKS

In the last couple of years, the Attorney General’s Office has
noticed a significant increase in fraud involving counterfeit
checks. Consumers have received counterfeit checks in
connection with promotions and scams involving lotteries,
prizes, tax refunds, government grants, and “mystery
shopping” services.

We have also encountered instances in which a consumer
received a counterfeit check as payment for an item sold
through a classified ad or an Internet auction site. In this
version of counterfeit check fraud, the payment is usually for
an amount much larger than the agreed upon price. When
the seller contacts the buyer about the overpayment, the
buyer will typically say he made an error in the amount,
indicate that he trusts the seller and encourage the seller to
cash the check, keep the amount owed and send the buyer a
personal check for the difference.

Fraudulent international lottery scams involving counterfeit
checks are also common. In this scam, you will receive a
letter notifying you that you have won a lottery in a foreign
country, often Canada. The letter will include a check for a
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few thousand dollars and instructions that you should cash
the check and send back another check for a lesser amount to
cover taxes legal fees or other expenses. Once your check is
received, the letter promises, your full lottery winning will
be sent to you.

In all of these variations, the check you received, no matter
how realistic it looks, will turn out to be counterfeit. The
fact that a bank cashes a check, or accepts it for deposit, does
not mean the check is valid. It can often take several weeks
for a security expert to determine a check is counterfeit.

Counterfeit checks are illegal. If you cash a check and it
proves to be counterfeit, you will have to repay the money to
the bank. If you send money to the scammer, it is almost
certain that you will never get your money back.

RED FLAGS

Be suspicious of checks you did not expect to receive or
checks that are for amounts greater than you expected. No
one sends you money out of the blue without expecting to
make money in return. Be equally suspicious of unexpected
money orders.

IF YOU RECEIVE A SUSPICIOUS CHECK

If you receive a suspicious check, you should shred it. If you
would like to send it to the Attorney General, we always
welcome information that helps us warn Idahoans about
active scams. However, please understand that most
counterfeit checks come from foreign countries, and we are
unable to pursue the senders. The Federal Deposit Insurance
Corporation (FDIC) posts alerts when banks report receiving
a counterfeit check. The web address is www.fdic.gov.

34


http://www.fdic.gov/

FREE PRIZES/MAIL SWEEPSTAKES
FREE PRIZES

"Prize" promotions are unlawful in Idaho if they require any
kind of purchase or similar payment in order to participate.
Even where no purchase or other payment is required, Idaho
law provides that "prize" promotions or solicitations must
not be deceptive or misleading as to your chances of winning
or as to the value of the prizes.

If you receive a "prize" promotion or sweepstakes offer that
requires a credit card number or payment of a fee to receive a
prize, the best course of action is simply to throw the
solicitation away. If the offer comes over the telephone, just
hang up.

MAIL SWEEPSTAKES

You have probably received -certificates in the mail
congratulating you as a “guaranteed” grand prize winner in a
promotional sweepstakes. However, the sweepstakes may
only drag you along, mailing after mailing, trying to get you
to purchase products or pay fees to claim your prize. Before
you respond to a sweepstakes offer, here are some things to
consider:

e Many of these promotions are fraudulent, and you
will not receive the promised prizes of money or
merchandise.

e The prizes (gems, watches, jewelry, etc.) may be
worth much less than implied or stated in the
sweepstakes.

e Never call a 900 number to claim a prize. You will
be charged a very high fee for each minute of the
phone call, and the promoters will keep you on the
phone as long as possible!
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e Never pay postage, processing fees or taxes to a
sweepstakes. Whatever you pay will be more than
the so-called free prize.

e Never give out your credit card number, social
security number or your bank account number.

e A true prize requires nothing of you!

Very sensible people have lost thousands of dollars by
simply believing that a huge sum of money would be mailed
to them soon.

If you would like to reduce the mailings coming to your
home, you can:

e Tear up and throw away questionable promotional
sweepstakes mailings. When you participate in these
sweepstakes, your address is sold to more mail
solicitors.

e Write to:

Direct Marketing Association
1615 L Street
Washington, DC 20036

Ask them to remove your name and address from
these lists. Be sure to enclose a check for $1, payable
to “Mail Preference Service”.

DOOR-TO-DOOR SALES

Idaho Consumer Protection Rules protect you from high-
pressure or deceptive door-to-door salespersons.

If you make a purchase of $25 or more from a door-to-door
salesperson for personal, family or household purposes, that
salesperson is required to furnish you with written

36



notification that you have a three-working-day grace period
in which to cancel the purchase. The salesperson should
give you a contract or receipt for your purchase and two
copies of the Notice of Cancellation form. You may cancel
your purchase by signing and dating one copy of the form
and mailing or delivering it to the seller within the three-day
period. Keep a copy for your records.

Within ten days of your cancellation, the seller must refund
all your money, return any trade-in you may have given,
cancel any contracts you have signed and let you know when
or how the merchandise will be returned.

You have these rights even if the seller did not furnish you
with the Notice of Cancellation forms. If you were not
provided with the forms, you may cancel your purchase by
writing a letter to the seller within three business days of the
transaction, stating your desire to cancel. It is a good idea to
send the letter certified mail, return receipt requested, and
keep a copy for your records.

If you used credit to purchase goods or services from the
door-to-door salesperson, the Idaho Credit Code allows you
three business days to cancel the purchase, regardless of the
price of the item. The three-day right to cancel does not
apply if the sale is made entirely by mail, if you discussed or
placed the order at the seller's place of business or if the sale
is of real estate, insurance or securities.

PYRAMID AND CHAIN DISTRIBUTION
SCHEMES

Pyramid marketing is inherently fraudulent due to the
mathematical impossibility for most people to achieve the

promised income.

Pyramid schemes take many forms, from the simple chain
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letter asking you to send money to individuals named in the
invitation letter, to more sophisticated chain distributions
offering to pay you money to bring others into the scheme.
Idaho law defines a pyramid promotional scheme as a plan
or operation whereby you pay for the opportunity to receive
compensation, derived primarily from the recruitment of
other persons into participating in the plan or operation
rather than from the sale of goods, services or other
intangible property by the person or other persons introduced
into the plan or operation. A chain distribution scheme
operates in a similar manner. Financial gain is made through
the recruitment of other participants.

Pyramid promotional schemes violate the Consumer
Protection Act and Idaho’s criminal law. Participants in
pyramid schemes may face felony criminal charges and
monetary penalties. Chain distribution schemes violate the
Consumer Protection Act.

SALES PRACTICES
REFERRAL SALES

If a merchant offers a reduction in price on a purchase in
exchange for recruiting additional buyers, this is known as a
referral sale. It is an unfair and deceptive act or practice for
a seller to engage in any referral sale unless you are given
the discount at the time names of potential purchasers are
given. The discount cannot be based on the future purchase
of goods or services to others.

If you are induced to enter into an agreement to purchase on
credit because of a referral sales tactic, you may rescind the
agreement or retain the goods and the benefit of any services
performed, without any obligation to pay. This applies only
to goods purchased for personal, family or household
purposes.
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IMPLIED WARRANTIES

The Uniform Commercial Code (UCC), Title 28, Idaho
Code, provides an implied warranty when goods are
purchased from a merchant who deals in those goods. This
means the goods automatically come with a guarantee that
they are fit for the ordinary purpose for which they are used.
In addition, if you rely on the seller's skill or judgment in
selecting goods for a particular purpose, the law also implies
a warranty of fitness for that particular purpose.

The implied warranty protects you only from defects that
substantially impair the product. It does not cover minor
defects, such as scratches or problems that do not prevent the
product from doing what it is supposed to do.

You may return the merchandise and request a refund only
after the seller has had a reasonable opportunity to repair or
replace it.  What is reasonable will depend on the
circumstances.

To get your money back or a replacement, you must revoke
your acceptance of the product by offering to return it to the
seller within a reasonable time after the defect is discovered.
You should put your revocation to the seller in writing and
keep a copy for your records.

Under the UCC, you have an obligation to take care of the
product as long as it is in your possession. If it costs you
money to take care of it, or if you suffer a loss because the
item is defective, you may be able to recover your expenses.
The implied warranty does not apply if you purchase a
product marked "as is" by the seller. This means the seller
does not make any promises about the condition or quality of
the item. If something goes wrong, the seller is not obligated
to repair or replace the item or to give you a refund.
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NEGATIVE OPTION

In a negative option promotion, a business offers something
free for a period of time. After that, the business bills you
for the goods or services unless you request that the service
be discontinued. In Idaho, businesses are prohibited from
using certain negative options. Businesses must obtain your
written consent before using negative option arrangements.
Book and recording clubs may continue to use negative
option mailings if the members have agreed up-front to that
arrangement, and the transaction complies with existing
federal law and Idaho's Unordered Goods and Services Rule.

USED GOODS

It is an unfair and deceptive practice to represent, directly or
indirectly, that goods are new or unused if the same is not
true. Clear and conspicuous disclosure must be made if
goods are used or if they contain used, rebuilt, re-
manufactured or reconditioned parts.

RAIN CHECKS

A store is required to have enough advertised items to meet
the reasonably expected public demand for the goods, unless
the advertisement states the quantity is limited. If, for some
reason, the advertised item is not available, offering rain
checks or substitute goods of the same or better quality is a
mitigating measure under the Consumer Protection Act.

LAY-AWAY

If you purchase something on lay-away, the seller must lay
aside the actual goods you have chosen, or exact duplicates,
unless you are given a clear and conspicuous disclosure that
this will not be done. The seller may not increase the price
of the goods laid away after the original agreement has been
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made. At the time of the purchase, the merchant should
provide you with a written disclosure of the store's lay-away
policy. The written disclosure must be on the initial lay-
away receipt, on a separate sheet of paper or clearly and
conspicuously posted at the store's lay-away desk.

CREDIT
CREDIT PURCHASES

Purchasers who use credit are protected under the federal
Truth in Lending Act. This law applies if you use any type
of credit card. It also applies when payment books or other
similar devices are used.

Under the Truth in Lending Act and related regulations, if
you use credit to buy a product that proves to be defective,
you do not have to pay the credit bill, provided three
conditions are met.

First, the cardholder must have made a good faith attempt to
resolve the matter with the merchant.

Second, the amount of credit involved in the disputed
transaction must be more than $50.

Third, the transaction must have occurred in the same state
as the cardholder's current address or within 100 miles from
that address.

The question of where a transaction occurs (as in the case of
mail or telephone orders, for example) is determined under
state law.

Even if your transaction does not meet these three criteria,
you should request a charge back (a credit to your account of
the disputed amount) from the issuer of your credit card,
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because the issuer may have agreements with other
businesses that give you additional rights.

You must, however, give the seller a reasonable opportunity
to repair or replace the item just as you would if you had
paid cash.

Payment of a disputed balance waives the right to assert
a claim or defense as to the credit card issuer.

The credit card issuer cannot demand payment of your bill
until your dispute with the seller is settled. If the credit card
issuer demands payment in spite of your situation, you may
sue and collect from $100-$1,000, depending upon the size
of your purchase. Under the Federal Trade Commission's
Holder in Due Course Rule and Idaho Consumer Protection
Rules, you have the same right to refuse payment to the
finance company as you have against the seller. This rule
also protects you if the seller referred you to a particular
finance company for credit. You must notify the finance
company in writing that you are revoking your acceptance
with the seller.

These rules do not apply in situations in which you arranged
for your own loan without any help from the seller. If you
borrowed money from a bank or other third party, and the
loan was made directly to you without any help or
recommendation from the seller, you are legally obligated to
repay the loan in full.

If you lose your credit cards or suspect that someone has
stolen them, immediately send the card issuer a letter
(certified mail, return receipt requested) that includes your
name, account number and the charges that you question,
along with a concise explanation.
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THE CREDIT REPORT PROTECTION ACT

The Credit Report Protection Act allows you to place a
“security freeze” on your credit report and prohibits a person
from intentionally releasing your Social Security number to
the general public. A security freeze, often called a “credit
freeze,” generally prohibits a consumer reporting agency
from giving your credit information to a third-party creditor.
If you believe that your personal or financial information has
been disclosed without your permission, you should consider
requesting a security freeze.

To obtain a security freeze, you must submit a request to
each of the three major consumer reporting agencies asking
them to place a freeze on your credit report. This can be
accomplished by phone, mail, or online. Be prepared to
provide your name, address, date of birth, Social Security
number, and other personal information to properly place the
credit freeze. You must pay a fee of up to $6 to each credit
reporting agency from which you request a freeze. However,
if you are a victim of identity theft, you can obtain a security
freeze for free. To obtain a free security freeze you must file
a police report and provide a copy to the credit reporting
agencies.

If a credit reporting agency violates the Credit Report
Protection Act, and you are harmed by it, you should consult
with a private attorney about your legal rights and options.
You also can file a consumer complaint with the Attorney
General’s Office.

FREE CREDIT REPORTS

Under federal law, you have a right to receive a free copy of
your credit report once a year from each of the three national
credit reporting agencies.
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The annual free reports are available only through the
centralized source set up by the three credit reporting
agencies. If you contact the companies directly, you will be
charged for your credit reports.

In order to obtain the credit reports, you will be asked for
identifying information, including your Social Security
number. Providing this information will ensure that credit
reporting agencies send you your credit report.

To obtain your free credit reports:

e Call, toll-free, (877) 322-8228; or

e Order online at www.annualcreditreport.com; or

e Complete the Annual Credit Report Request Form,
available at www.ftc.gov/credit, and mail it to:

Annual Credit Report Request Service
PO Box 105281
Atlanta, GA 30348-5281

When you apply for your free credit reports, the credit
reporting agencies will likely attempt to sell you upgraded
services. You are under no obligation to purchase any
upgraded services. You may simply say no to these options
and receive only your free report.

CREDIT REPAIR

Beware of any business that promises to erase bad credit.
Time and good credit practices are the only cures for a poor
credit history. Any promises to the contrary are false and
misleading. Idaho law requires all companies making credit
repair claims to be licensed by the Idaho Department of
Finance.
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FAIR CREDIT BILLING

Congress passed the federal Fair Credit Billing Act (FCBA)
to protect and assist consumers seeking to resolve disputes
with creditors. To protect your rights under the FCBA, you
must send a written “billing error notice” to the creditor
within 60 days after the first bill containing the error was
mailed to you. The creditor must acknowledge your “notice”
in writing within 30 days of receipt, unless the problem is
resolved within that period. In addition, within two billing
cycles or within 90 days, the creditor must conduct a
reasonable investigation and either correct the mistake or
provide an explanation as to why the bill is correct. During
this dispute resolution, the creditor may not threaten damage
to your credit rating or report you as delinquent to anyone.

TRUTH IN LENDING

The federal Truth in Lending Act requires disclosure of the
true costs of consumer credit so that you can make informed
choices among credit sources. This allows you to shop for
the best credit terms and to fully understand the credit
agreement.

One important required disclosure is the finance charge, the
amount it will cost to borrow or buy on credit. Another
important disclosure is the annual percentage rate, also
known as APR. The APR discloses the interest rate being
charged. Other Truth in Lending disclosure requirements
include:

e the identity of the creditor making the disclosure;
e the amount financed (the amount of credit provided);

e a breakdown of the amount financed (where the
money goes);
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e the number, amounts and timing of installment
payments;

e the total amount of payments (the total amount of all
scheduled payments);

e whether the obligation must be repaid on demand;

e the total sale price (the total price of the purchase on
credit, including any down payment);

e if there will be a penalty or a partial refund of the
finance charges if the debt is paid off early;

e any charges for late payments and

e the existence of a security interest in the purchased
product.

Truth in Lending disclosures must normally be made at or
before the time of the transaction. If they are not, and you
are damaged by the failure to disclose, you may recover your
actual damages. You may also recover court costs and
reasonable attorney fees.

TRUTH IN LEASING

The federal Truth in Leasing Act regulates consumer leases
because they represent an alternative to buying on credit.
The Act requires disclosure of certain information to ensure
you do not confuse leasing with purchasing on credit and to
provide adequate information for you to make informed
decisions.

If a lease advertisement contains any of the following two
triggering terms, then specific disclosures must also be
included in the advertisement. These triggering terms are:
1) a statement of the amount of any payment (for example,
“Pay a mere $140 per month™) or 2) a statement that any or
no initial payment is required at the beginning of the lease
(for example, “Zero Down,” “Low Down Payment,” or
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“Lease now and make no payments for three months”). If
these triggering terms are used in a consumer lease
advertisement, then the advertisement must clearly and
conspicuously state, as applicable, the following five
disclosures:

e that the transaction advertised is a lease;

e the total amount of any initial payments required on
or before consummation of the lease or delivery of
the vehicle, whichever is later;

e whether a security deposit is required;

e the number, amount and timing of scheduled
payments and

e with respect to a lease in which your liability at the
end of the lease term is based on the anticipated
residual value of the vehicle (open-ended leases), that
an extra charge may be imposed at the end of the
lease term.

Truth in Leasing disclosures must normally be made at or
before the time of the transaction. If you are damaged as a
result of a failure to disclose, you may recover your actual
damages, and you may also recover court costs and
reasonable attorney fees.

THE CONSUMER FORECLOSURE
PROTECTION ACT

Due to an increase in mortgage foreclosures, the number of
so-called “foreclosure rescue” companies has multiplied.
These companies advertise that they can help financially
distressed consumers save their homes from foreclosure, but,
in fact, they often strip consumers of their equity and make
them tenants in their own homes.
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The Consumer Foreclosure Protection Act requires certain
businesses to include written disclosures in any contract with
a homeowner who is facing foreclosure. Contracts must
include a notice informing the homeowner about the
consequences of entering into a foreclosure rescue contract.
The notice must provide information about resources the
homeowner may consult. It also must include a five-day
right to rescind the contract. Certain businesses, including
licensed mortgage lenders and brokers, banks, and credit
unions, are exempt from the Act’s disclosure requirements.

For additional information about foreclosure rescue schemes,
refer to the Attorney General’s publication Foreclosure
Prevention: A  Workbook. It 1is available at
www.ag.idaho.gov. For additional information regarding
how to avoid foreclosure, visit the U.S. Department of
Housing and Urban Development’s website at www.hud.gov
or call HUD, toll-free, at (800) 569-4287. You should
consult with your private attorney before you sign any
contract involving the ownership of your home.

RAFFLES, BINGO & PROMOTIONAL
DRAWINGS

Idaho law authorizes bingo and raffle games only when
operated by qualified charitable organizations in the pursuit
of charitable purposes. The charity may need to obtain a
license from the Idaho Lottery Commission.

Under Idaho law, a game of chance in which you must pay
money, make a purchase or give anything of monetary value
in order to have a chance to win a prize is considered a
lottery. It is unlawful in Idaho for anyone other than the
Idaho Lottery, a charity licensed by the Idaho Lottery
Commission or an Indian Tribe on its reservation to conduct
lotteries, bingo games or raffles. Games of skill are not
considered lotteries.
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Merchant promotional contests and drawings conducted
incidental to bona fide non-gaming business operations are
allowed if participants do not have to pay money or other
consideration in order to play.

CHARITIES

The Charitable Solicitation Act prohibits unfair, false,
misleading or deceptive conduct in the solicitation of funds
for a charitable organization. The Attorney General enforces
this law through the Consumer Protection Division.

Many charities use professional fundraisers to solicit
donations by telephone. It is common for a charity to
authorize professional fundraisers to use the charity’s name.
They will tell you the proceeds go to the charity. However,
professional fundraisers often keep 85% or more of your
contribution as their profit and to cover their operating costs.
If you are not interested in the product or event, you will
provide a greater benefit to the charity by sending a check
directly to the charity and bypassing the fundraiser
altogether.

You should carefully check out any organization that solicits
you for a donation. For information about a particular
national charity’s activities, finances and fundraising
practices, visit the Council of Better Business Bureaus’
Wise Giving Alliance at www.give.org.

Before you agree to make a purchase or donation:

e Ask how your contribution will be used. Ask what
percentage of your contribution will go to the charity
itself. Ask if your contribution will be used locally or
elsewhere. Get written information.

e Call the charity directly to verify whether the
fundraiser is working on behalf of the organization.
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If you cannot verify the claim, report the solicitation
to your local law enforcement officials and the
Consumer Protection Division.

e Do not believe a fundraiser’s suggestion that you’ll
receive special treatment for donating. No fundraiser
can guarantee that you won’t be stopped for speeding
if you have a police organization’s decal in your car
window.

e Don’t feel intimidated about declining to give. A
caller who uses intimidation tactics or emotional
pleas is likely to be a scam artist. Report the call to
your local law enforcement officials and the
Consumer Protection Division.

If you do give, be careful how you do it. Avoid cash gifts;
cash can be lost or stolen. Never give your credit card
number over the phone to someone who calls you. Write a
check and make it out to the charity — not the solicitor.

INTERNET SAFETY

One of the greatest risks of the Internet is that it is an
anonymous place with no face-to-face contact. Thieves and
predators take advantage of this anonymity and pretend to be
someone other than whom they really are. For more detailed
information read the Attorney General’s manual Infernet

Safety.
SHOPPING ONLINE
Use a secure browser

A browser is the software you use to explore the Internet.
Your browser should comply with industry security
standards. Most computers come with a secure browser
already installed.
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You can determine whether your browser is secure from
your web browser window. Select the “HELP” menu option
and then select “ABOUT.” The information pop-up window
will display the encryption level.

Shop with companies you know.

Anyone can set up a business under almost any name on the
Internet. If you are not familiar with a business, look for a
physical address, a phone number and an e-mail address.
Contact the business and ask for a brochure or catalog of
merchandise and services. Request a copy of the business’s
refund and return policy. Contact the Better Business
Bureau and the Consumer Protection Agency in the
business’s home state to find out what kind of track record
the business has. Check with the Secretary of State to see if
the business is registered. If you are purchasing an item
from an Internet auction, check the seller’s feedback rating.

Before you make a purchase, make sure that you know what
you are paying for. Review the description, price
information, and any limitations on purchases. (For
example, goods may not be available for delivery outside of
the country; there may be minimum quantities that must be
ordered; etc.) If possible, compare the description to an
actual physical model of the same item.

Review the fine print and look for words such as
“refurbished,” “close-out,” “discontinued” or “off-brand.”

Keep a paper copy of your purchase

When you order something over the Internet, keep a printed
copy of your purchase order, receipt or confirmation number.
A paper record will help resolve problems with your
purchase.
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If you are purchasing an item from an Internet auction,
review the auction site’s recommended payment options.
Decide whether you are willing to risk sending your money
before you receive the product. Some Internet auction sites
warn against paying by cash wire transfer, as this kind of
payment is not traceable and usually impossible to recover in
case of fraud.

The federal Mail or Telephone Order Merchandise Rule also
covers purchases made over the Internet. Unless otherwise
indicated, this rule requires that the merchandise must be
delivered within 30 days. The company must notify you if
the merchandise cannot be delivered within that time frame.

Internet auction sites

Shopping on an auction site does not automatically protect
you from fraud. In fact, some auction sites may be wholly
fraudulent. Shop only on sites that you know or can verify
are legitimate.

When shopping on an auction site, you should always
understand and follow the site’s guidelines. Going outside
the site to pay for a purchase puts you at greater risk of fraud
and loss of money. Some sellers or buyers will offer to deal
with you directly through your e-mail, for example claiming
that your bid won a “second chance” offer. This is a tactic
often used by scammers as an attempt to lure you away from
the site’s protection guarantees.

Be especially cautious of buyers and sellers outside of the
United States. Much of the fraud reported on these sites
occurs with foreign transactions. If you lose money in an
Internet scam, you will have practically no chance of getting
it back, especially if the seller is in a different country.
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If you have a dispute with an auction site purchase, contact
the seller through the auction site’s system. Don’t
communicate “off-site” or by direct e-mail. If you are not
satisfied with the seller’s response, use the auction site’s
dispute process. Be sure to act within the site’s allowed
timeframe. Don’t let the seller delay until the dispute
deadline has passed. If you pay with a credit card, you may
also be able to dispute charges with your credit card
company.

E-MAIL
Advance Fee Scam

Advance Fee Scams include requests for your personal bank
account information or asking you to pay an advance fee for
taxes, attorney fees and other transactional costs in order to
receive a benefit or money.

“Phishing” or Verification Scam

If you are a target of this scam, you will receive an e-mail or
pop-up message that appears to be from a trusted company.
The e-mail will indicate that the company needs to verify
information for its records and will ask you to provide your
credit card number, automatic teller PIN (personal
identification number), Social Security number and/or other
confidential information. This kind of e-mail is an attempt to
obtain information that can be used to steal your identity or
your money.

The companies with whom you do business already have the
information they need. Legitimate companies will not
contact you by e-mail to verify information you have already
provided.
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If you receive an e-mail similar to these scams, do not
respond. Forward it to the Federal Trade Commission at
spam@uce.gov and then delete the original e-mail from your
computer.

SPAM

Bulk electronic mail advertisements, or “spam,” are the e-
mail version of junk mail: unwanted messages from people
you do not know seeking to sell you a product or service.

The Federal “CAN-SPAM” Act of 2003 requires spammers
to allow you to “opt out” from receiving future e-mails.
Many people, however, report that they receive additional e-
mails from other spammers after they ask to be removed
from one spammer’s list. You can report spammers that do
not honor your “opt out” request to the FTC.

A recipient of spam e-mail may also file a complaint with the
Idaho Attorney General’s Consumer Protection Division.

CHILD SAFETY
Here are some Internet safety tips for parents and kids:

e Communicate. Talk to your child about the potential
hazards of the Internet.

e Keep the computer in a central room.
e Use parental controls and/or blocking software.
e Keep track of the websites viewed by your children.

e Maintain access to your child’s account and
randomly check e-mail.

e Teach your children not to give out any information
about themselves.

¢ Do not allow your children to use chat rooms. Even
seemingly safe “kids” chat rooms can be dangerous.
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The Attorney General has produced ProtecTeens to educate
children and their parents about the dangers from sexual
predators on the Internet. You can watch the ProtecTeens
video, view the supporting materials and request a free copy
of the ProtecTeens CD by visiting the Attorney General’s
website.

The National Center for Missing and Exploited Children has
also assembled a very useful, informative and fun Internet
safety program for parents and kids. You’ll find it at
www.netsmartz.org.
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Consumer Protection Manuals

Charitable Giving Landlord and Tenant Guidelines
Foreclosure Prevention: A Workbook Residential Construction
Guidelines for Motor Vehicle Senior Citizens Manual

Advertising in Idaho Service on an Idaho Nonprofit Board
Idaho Consumer Protection Manual of Directors
Idaho Lemon Law Telephone Solicitation
Internet Safety Young Adult Handbook

Funds collected by the Attorney General’s Consumer
Protection Division as the result of enforcement actions
paid for these pamphlets. No tax monies were used to
pay for these publications.

The Consumer Protection Division enforces Idaho’s
consumer protection laws, provides information to the
public on consumer issues, and offers an informal
mediation process for individual consumer complaints.

If you have a consumer problem or question, please call
(208) 334-2424 or in-state toll-free (800) 432-3545. TDD
access and Language Line translation services are
available. The Attorney General’s website is available at
www.ag.idaho.gov.

Last revised 6/2015


http://www.ag.idaho.gov/

	THE CONSUMER PROTECTION DIVISION 1
	How to Contact the Consumer Protection Division 2
	What the Consumer Protection Division Does 3
	Consumer Education 3
	Mediation of Complaints 3
	Litigation 4
	What the Consumer Protection Division Does Not Do 5
	PROTECTING YOURSELF FROM CONSUMER FRAUD 5
	General Rules 5
	Addressing Problems 6
	Contacting The Business 6
	Calling or Visiting the Business 6
	Writing a Letter to the Business 7
	Filing A Complaint 7
	Private Cause Of Action - Small Claims Court 9
	CONTRACTS 9
	Before you sign a contract: 10
	Resolving problems with your contract: 11
	MOTOR VEHICLES 11
	Buying A New Car 11
	Buying A Used Car 13
	Idaho's Lemon Law 14
	Repairing A Car 16
	REPAIRING OR REMODELING YOUR HOME 17
	Residential Construction 17
	Contractor Registration 17
	Notices 18
	How To Choose A Contractor 19
	What You Should Know About The General Contractor’s Insurance Coverage 21
	Residential Construction/Home Improvement Contract 21
	Tips To Consider Before Signing a Contract 22
	What To Keep In A Job File 23
	What To Do When the Project is Finished 23
	What To Do If You Have A Complaint 24
	LIVING TRUSTS 24
	LIVING WILLS 25
	TELECOMMUNICATIONS 26
	The No Call Laws 26
	Registering for the No Call Laws 26
	Filing a Complaint 27
	Telephone Solicitation 27
	Consumer Rights 28
	Notice of Cancellation 28
	Telemarketer Responsibilities 29
	Unlawful Acts 29
	Cramming 30
	Unsolicited Faxes 31
	900 Pay-Per-Telephone Call Services 32
	COUNTERFEIT CHECKS 33
	Red Flags 34
	If You Receive a Suspicious Check 34
	FREE PRIZES/MAIL SWEEPSTAKES 35
	Free Prizes 35
	Mail Sweepstakes 35
	DOOR-TO-DOOR SALES 36
	PYRAMID AND CHAIN DISTRIBUTION SCHEMES 37
	SALES PRACTICES 38
	Referral Sales 38
	Implied Warranties 39
	Negative Option 40
	Used Goods 40
	Rain Checks 40
	Lay-Away 40
	CREDIT 41
	Credit Purchases 41
	The Credit Report Protection Act 43
	Free Credit Reports 43
	Credit Repair 44
	Fair Credit Billing 45
	Truth In Lending 45
	TRUTH IN LEASING 46
	THE CONSUMER FORECLOSURE PROTECTION ACT 47
	RAFFLES, BINGO & PROMOTIONAL DRAWINGS 48
	CHARITIES 49
	INTERNET SAFETY 50
	Shopping Online 50
	Use a secure browser 50
	Shop with companies you know. 51
	Keep a paper copy of your purchase 51
	Internet auction sites 52
	E-Mail 53
	Advance Fee Scam 53
	“Phishing” or Verification Scam 53
	Spam 54
	Child Safety 54
	THE CONSUMER PROTECTION Division
	How to Contact the Consumer Protection Division
	What the Consumer Protection Division Does
	Consumer Education
	Mediation of Complaints
	Litigation

	What the Consumer Protection Division Does Not Do

	PROTECTING YOURSELF FROM CONSUMER FRAUD
	General Rules
	Addressing Problems
	Contacting The Business
	Calling or Visiting the Business
	Writing a Letter to the Business

	Filing A Complaint
	Private Cause Of Action - Small Claims Court

	Contracts
	Before you sign a contract:
	Resolving problems with your contract:

	motor vehicles
	Buying A New Car
	Buying A Used Car
	Idaho's Lemon Law
	Repairing A Car

	Repairing Or Remodeling Your Home
	Residential Construction
	Contractor Registration
	Notices
	How To Choose A Contractor
	What You Should Know About The General Contractor’s Insurance Coverage
	Residential Construction/Home Improvement Contract
	Tips To Consider Before Signing a Contract

	What To Keep In A Job File
	What To Do When the Project is Finished
	What To Do If You Have A Complaint

	Living Trusts
	Living Wills
	telecommunications
	The No Call Laws
	Registering for the No Call Laws
	Filing a Complaint

	Telephone Solicitation
	Consumer Rights
	Notice of Cancellation
	Telemarketer Responsibilities
	Unlawful Acts

	Cramming
	Unsolicited Faxes
	900 Pay-Per-Telephone Call Services

	COUNTERFEIT CHECKS
	Red Flags
	If You Receive a Suspicious Check

	Free Prizes/Mail Sweepstakes
	Free Prizes
	Mail Sweepstakes

	DOOR-TO-DOOR SALES
	Pyramid And Chain Distribution Schemes
	Sales Practices
	Referral Sales
	Implied Warranties
	Negative Option
	Used Goods
	Rain Checks
	Lay-Away

	credit
	Credit Purchases
	The Credit Report Protection Act
	Free Credit Reports
	Credit Repair
	Fair Credit Billing
	Truth In Lending

	Truth In Leasing
	THE CONSUMER FORECLOSURE PROTECTION ACT
	Raffles, Bingo & Promotional Drawings
	Charities
	INTERNET SAFETY
	Shopping Online
	Use a secure browser
	Shop with companies you know.
	Keep a paper copy of your purchase
	Internet auction sites

	E-Mail
	Advance Fee Scam
	“Phishing” or Verification Scam

	Spam
	Child Safety


