The Attorney General’s Office receives a number of inquiries concerning Idaho law on concealed weapons licenses. Therefore, we have developed a list of the most frequently asked questions and provided answers for your convenience.
Yes, you may carry a weapon that is clearly visible. If you are carrying a concealed weapon outside the limits of the city you may do so without a license if you are at least 18 years old and not disqualified under Idaho law from obtaining a concealed weapon license.
You may carry a concealed weapon without a license in city limits if you are at least 21 years of age, a resident of Idaho and not disqualified under Idaho law from obtaining a concealed weapon license.
A person does not have to have a concealed weapons license to carry or be in possession of a deadly weapon or firearm in the following circumstances:
A person who does have a concealed weapons license may carry a deadly weapon or firearm concealed and loaded in a vehicle.
No. If you are outside the city limits or confines of a city, and, if you are hunting, fishing, trapping or some other lawful outdoor activity, you are not required to have a concealed weapons license.
You apply in person to a county sheriff. If you have questions about applying for an Idaho Concealed Weapon License, please refer to Idaho Sheriff's Association or contact the county sheriff where you reside or the county sheriff where you intend to apply if you are not an Idaho resident.
You may demonstrate familiarity with the firearm. Usually, one of the following courses is required:
A county sheriff may grant you a license without completing one of the courses if:
No, you do not have to take a test. However, you must meet the requirements described in the answer above.
You may not be eligible to obtain a concealed weapons license if you have been convicted of certain crimes. Please see Idaho Code Sections 18-3302(a) through 18-3302(n), which list crimes and other conditions that disqualify a person from being issued a concealed weapons license.
If you have been convicted of any of the crimes listed in Idaho Code Sections 18-310(2)(a) through 18-310(2)(jj), you are not eligible to obtain a concealed weapons license.
The fee for the original license is $20.00*. The renewal fee is $15.00*.
* Idaho Code provides that the sheriff may collect any additional fees necessary to cover the cost of processing fingerprints lawfully required by any state or federal agency or department, and the cost of materials for the license lawfully required by any state agency or department, which costs shall be paid to the state.
licenses are valid for five years from the date of issue.
Yes. The sheriff of the county where the license was issued or the sheriff of the county where the person resides may revoke a license for any of the following reasons:
Yes. You may not carry a concealed weapon in a courthouse, juvenile detention facility, adult correctional facility, prison, jail, public school or private school. For purposes of this prohibition against carrying a concealed weapon, a "school" is defined as "a private or public elementary or secondary school." Also, the board of trustees of the school district or the governing board can grant permission to carry a weapon at school to an employee of the school or the school district.
Federal law may prohibit you from carrying a weapon in places such as federal courthouses and airports.
If you have any doubt, you should contact the government entity prior to carrying a weapon onto its premises.
Yes. However, while in Idaho, you must carry the license on your person at all times when you are carrying a concealed weapon. (Idaho Code Section 18-3302(12)(g))
Yes, if you are a qualified law enforcement officer and meet all of the conditions in Idaho Code Section 18-3302H.
The Enhanced Concealed Weapon License Law became effective on July 1, 2013. The Idaho State Police, Bureau of Criminal Identification Bureau maintains the reciprocity agreements between Idaho and other states. You may access information regarding those agreements via the Idaho State Police website. If you have additional questions, concerning reciprocity agreements, please call (208) 884-7498
No. A concealed weapon includes any dirk, dirk knife, bowie knife, dagger, pistol, revolver or any other deadly or dangerous weapon.
Yes, unless the private business, which is open to the public forbids carrying weapons on the business premises. Private businesses are within their rights to prohibit weapons on their property. It does not appear that these statutes prohibit private property owners from restricting weapons on their private property.
(Last revised on 1/19/2017)